My Not-so-Bright Moments

I would consider myself fairly intelligent. I worked really hard in college, graduated magna cum laude; I am an avid reader, etc. Sometimes, though, I have these moments… I ask really stupid questions or figure things out a little too late. I’ll share my two latest not-so-bright moments of 2012:
 
1. On my trip to Rome with my mom: “So, are you Italian?” -question I asked a Swiss Guard after he took a picture with us. Of course, I didn’t realize until the evening, about five hours after the fact, what an immensely stupid question I had asked! Hello? How did the title ‘Swiss Guard’ not flip a light on in that brain of mine? Duh!!!
 
A little trivia about the Swiss Guards from Encyclopedia Britannica Online:
New recruits must be unmarried Roman Catholic males with Swiss citizenship, between 19 and 30 years of age, and at least 5 feet 8 inches (1.74 metres) tall; they must have a professional diploma or high school degree and must complete basic training with the Swiss military. […] The guards normally wear blue doublets and blue berets, but on ceremonial occasions they don the colourful Renaissance-era uniforms for which they are famous. They are among the oldest uniforms in continuous use, though Michelangelo, contrary to legend, probably did not design them. The tunics are striped in the colours of the Medici family: red, dark blue, and yellow. White ruffs and high plumed helmets (with ostrich feathers coloured to reflect different ranks) are also worn, as, on occasion, is armour. While in traditional dress, the guards carry pikes and swords, but they are also trained in the use of modern weaponry and counterterrorism techniques.

20120302-180613.jpg

 
2. Just happened today: I was walking up to my car and it started up as I stood right next to it, holding my keys and getting ready to unlock it. I just stared at the car in amazement, wondering how on earth my car had started without my even getting in the car and putting the key in the ignition… Turns out I have Auto Start! This whole time! I’ve had this car since mid-October, and I am just now figuring this out! Ugh!
 
2 thoughts on “My Not-so-Bright Moments

  1. Thanks for giving me a chuckle. Yeah, the Swiss Guard should have been a hit to the head, duh! But as far as the car, give yourself a break, that’s not a typical option. I don’t know anyone who has that feature. So really you would have to blame the person who sold you the car because they did not inform you of that feature. I would like to have that auto start on cold mornings when I am staying in a hotel. Oh yeah, that would be great!.

Leave a Reply

