Using My Own Writing in the Classroom

My students and I have been working on a lot of test prep lately. While working on responding to writing prompts, I decided to use my own writing for examples. I attended a couple sessions at the 2011 NCTE convention and Teachers College writing institutes about using my own writing as models or mentor texts. This idea made me nervous for a long time, but thanks to starting up this blog for the SOL challenge, I’ve begun drafting a little more confidently with the kids in class, even showing them how I go back and reread to find areas for improvement. We catch some wording or grammar mistakes I should fix, and I make the changes/corrections. I am going to start a collection of these drafts to use with revision exercises, etc. Hopefully my writing will strengthen my teaching.

4 thoughts on “Using My Own Writing in the Classroom

  1. I struggle with writing in front of my students, but my slices give me ideas to share with them about revision. I love your last line – hopefully, my writing will strengthen my teaching! I’m hoping too!

Leave a Reply

