Summer Weather, Hawaiian Memories…

This beautiful warm weather that has arrived so early in March has really been surprising and pleasant.  It has also come with rain, and plants have started blooming.  Our neighbors’ cherry blossom tree has bloomed and filled my husband’s home office with its delicious scent; the cherry blossom is all you smell as soon as you enter the room. Today, we have had our warmest day so far…79 degrees!  Such a day took my mind back to our Hawaii trips.  My husband and I loved our time in Hawaii so much we had our wedding there (Maui) in 2009.  The last time we were in Hawaii was for our wedding and we do plan to return.  I’m thinking about my top ten favorite things about Maui today and hoping our next trip to Hawaii isn’t too too far away…

#10- My favorite Hawaiian drink is the Lava Flow!  A delightful combination of pina colada and strawberry daquiri.  Ahhh!  So refreshing…

#9- My favorite treat is haupia ice cream- I believe haupia is actually a Hawaiian pudding with coconut flavor, and there’s a shop where my husband goes to pick up his must-have shaved ice.  I always go for the haupia ice cream, so creamy and coconuty.

#8- My favorite meal is mahi mahi.  On our first trip to Maui, I planned on ordering mahi mahi because it was very fun to say.  When I bit into it, I was in love.

# 7- Favorite restaurant in Lahaina- Lahaina Fish Company

#6- My favorite souvenir I am obsessed with vintage Hawaiian post cards!  I always pick up a set to add to my collection.

#5- Favorite spot in Lahaina- I had never heard of a Banyan tree until I went to Maui; its branches stretch horizontally over the square where it’s planted and the branches intertwine with each other.  Nothing beats sitting near the Banyan tree in the evening and enjoying the warm breeze as I look out to the ocean and admire the moonlight glimmer on the water.

#4- Favorite excursion- we always make sure to fit in snorkeling when we’re in Maui. The first time we snorkeled in the ocean, the diversity and beauty of sea life I saw just took my breath away.  I swam inches away from a sea turtle. The last time I snorkeled we saw a group of spinner dolphins before reaching our snorkeling site.  What a sight we had as these beautiful creatures spun out of the water together- I was totally awestruck.

#3- Sleeping in a room facing the ocean with the balcony door open.  NOTHING more soothing than the sound of the sea at night. Just lulls me like I’m a baby.

#2 – Sunsets by the sea- this just speaks for itself…

#1- The beach- lounging on the sand by the ocean just reading my book or listening to music and people watching.  Oh, bliss!

One thought on “Summer Weather, Hawaiian Memories…

  1. It all sounds delightful. Sunsets by the ocean. The Lava Flow and ice cream sound delicious. There is something about the tropics and coconut that brings out the best.

Leave a Reply

