The Wait Is Over!

In mid-February I applied for a Teachers College Writing Institute. I received an automatic response that informed me I would be notified about my acceptance in about three to four weeks. The weeks went by with me checking my email over and over again, searching for an answer.  Would I be able to return to the Writing Institute this year?  I thought I would never find out (bit dramatic, I know), but soon good news arrived!  Yes, I’ve been accepted.  Ever since I’ve learned about the Writing Institute I have been attending every summer, thanks to a supportive administration that helps make my attending the institute possible. I’ve learned so much by attending the institute, and I see myself growing as a teacher of writing thanks to all the knowledge I’ve gained.  So I’m excited to return like an open vessel, ready to take in more knowledge that will lead me and my students to grow more as writers. I’m counting the days until I to return to NYC 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6 thoughts on “The Wait Is Over!

  1. I am so jealous! How does the financial aspect of this work? Is there a lot of costs that your building/district has to cover? Every year I look at this with longing but I haven’t pursued it ever because I didn’t think financial it would be possible. I don’t think my district would pay for anything.

    • As far as expenses that need to be covered, it’s just me who is sent from my school- I suppose I’m blessed to work in a small school where I’m the only English teacher in our junior-high floor.

  2. I went for the first time last year and LOVED it! I’m actually going to the reading institute this summer and can’t wait. Have a great time!

Leave a Reply

