Sharing What I Learn from My Students

My friend and I have known each other since sixth grade.  She was my maid of honor, and she’s also my son’s godmother.  We rarely have opportunities to talk on the phone since work and life keep us so busy.  My life feels like a spinning top, gaining more and more momentum as soon as the school year begins.

No matter how long it’s been, however, I know I’ll laugh the next time I talk to her, and we’ll pick up right where we were. Last night she called me to share some special news. One of our favorite high school teachers is being honored during the graduation ceremony of the university where my friend works. We got to chatting about other things and I got around to telling her about the typical challenges of adjusting to a new job- I recently made the move back to high school after teaching middle school for a few years. I told her about how I missed my lunchtime buddies from my old school; these days, I have lunch by myself due to different lunch periods and class schedules.  Then, I told her about how I love to learn the slang teenagers use these days.  Working with high schoolers again makes me realize that I really need to get with the times again.  As we continued chatting, I said, “Cha’ feel you” (this means ‘I feel you’, an expression of empathy teens use) when she started venting about frustrations and challenges at her work.  She replied, “Oh no, if you say YOLO next, I might hang up.”

Though I do sound silly using teen slang, I get a real kick out of practicing the vocabulary I learn from my students.  I just hope that whatever I teach them sticks as much as what they teach me.

By the way, I feel like the female version of this when I use teen slang…

https://blogpraylove.files.wordpress.com/2014/01/576be-19.jpg

Leave a Reply

