10 Things I Should Do this Summer

I get it every year, beginning with the first day of summer vacation…this “phantom anxiety” that I should be doing something for school- getting up at my usual 5:40 a.m. to get ready for the school day, grading and not lying around relaxing and watching a movie, planning lessons for the next day. It’s this feeling of anxiousness that I feel for about a week until I finally start letting go and really relaxing. This week, the same week as my last day of school,  I came across a post on the We are Teachers blog which listed ten things every teacher should do this summer. I have made a promise with myself that by the end of the summer I will have checked off each item. Here’s what I’ve done so far.

2. Read a book that’s just for grown-ups. Currently reading Nicholas Sparks’ The Longest Ride, thank you very much. 

3.  If you have your own kids, let them plan one wandering, wild, carefree day. The kind that’s hard to have when there are piles of papers to grade. My son and I just spent the afternoon at the park yesterday- we played on swings, fed ducks, and kicked a ball around. Definitely wish I had more days like this with him during the school year but I loved our carefree day.  More to come this summer!

4. Whether or not you have kids, plan one of those carefree days for yourself! Today, I am having a movie day for myself- The Fault in Our Stars.  Can’t Wait!

Below is the link to the blog post that inspired me 🙂

http://www.weareteachers.com/community/blogs/weareteachersblog/blog-wat/2013/06/04/10-things-every-teacher-should-try-this-summer

 

Leave a Reply

